6 U.S. Airlines Approved for Cuba Flights

Americans will be able to fly commercial to Cuba in the fall, the U.S. Transportation Department announced on Friday.

The Transportation Department approved six U.S. airlines—American, JetBlue, Frontier, Southwest, Sun Country and Silver Airways—to fly to Cuba, marking the first time in decades that non-charter flights have been scheduled to the island.

Flights could begin as early as the fall from Miami, Fort Lauderdale, Chicago, Philadelphia, Chicago and Minneapolis/St. Paul, while scheduled flights will reach nine Cuban cities.

U.S. law still bans tourism to Cuba, but there are some current exceptions: educational tours or journalistic activity, according to Reuters. President Barack Obama began restoring relationswith the Communist nation in December 2014.

source: time.com by Daniel White

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.